The Sweet Trilogy Review

 

The Sweet Trilogy

Synopsis:

Title – The Sweet Trilogy  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Wendy Higgins (Website, Goodreads)

Published – May 1st 2012, April 30th 2013, and April 29th 2014

Classification – Young Adult Fiction

Summary – Anna Whitt was born with the ability to see and feel the emotions of people around her. She also remembers everything since her birth. She remembers a male figure telling her to stay away from what she desires so strongly everyday…drugs & alcohol.

Despite Anna hiding her differences from everybody, including her foster mom, Patti, she can’t evade the inevitable .  When her friend Jason brings her to a concert and she doesn’t see the drummer’s emotional aura, she finds out her real heritage…filled with angels, demons, and nyphs.

______________________________________________________________________

Thoughts:

Okay so no matter how many times I rewrite the summary to try to make it sound less cheesy, I can’t. But let me stress to you….holy amazing book!

I read the first book in this series, Sweet Evil, and before I could sit down to write a full review…I finished the whole trilogy. Oops. So I decided to write a review on the whole series.

And here I am, about two months later, still thinking about the characters and wishing I could keep following their journey (although the end wraps it up pretty well).

This series is excellent. It took me on an emotional rollercoaster. I became attached to the characters. I didn’t want it to end but I couldn’t stop reading.

I don’t like doing a lot of internet digging on a book before I read the story, but you’d think I’d know by now to at least find out if it is part of a series. I got to almost the end of the book and started to panic because there wasn’t enough pages to finish everything!

there's too many things that need resolving but the book has only 20 pages left

Sums up my panic.

I think the relate-ability of the characters allows for fan bases to grow. This is the case for the Sweet trilogy. The fanbase is growing! Just search Sweet Peril in tumblr. Kaiden Rowe even has his own twitter account and wiki page. Clearly it is a pretty quotable book, similar to We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

 

Please don’t let the silly angel/demon world turn you off to Anna’s world. I am with all those reviewers on goodreads saying “this review doesn’t do it justice” and begging for others to enjoy!

 

Conclusion: Try out the first book. Perhaps by the time you’re done you’ll be grabbing for the next.

 

IMG_3272

Leave a Reply

