Chasing Perfect Book Review

Synopsis:Chasing Perfect

Title – Chasing Perfect  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Susan Mallery (Website, Goodreads)

Published – January 1st 2010

Classification – Contemporary Romance

Summary – In Fool’s Gold, California, the men don’t stay. The problem of the imbalance of men vs. woman is a problem Charity Jones is hired to fix as the City Planner. Charity sees Fool’s Gold as the perfect small town she can settle down in. It is also the home of Josh Golden, the world famous bicyclist, who is the second youngest winner of the Tour de France. Josh makes the whole town swoon, which is exactly the type of boy Charity swore off. She wanted boring and sensible. But how could she do boring when Josh leaves her breathless?

 

Chasing Perfect is the first book in the Fool’s Gold Romance series by Susan Mallery.

__________________________________________________________________________________

 

Thoughts:

A few months ago, I read Kiss Me, the 17th book in the Fool’s Gold series. I enjoyed it so I thought I’d read another in the series. Why not start at the beginning?

 

Unfortunately, I did not enjoy this book as much as I enjoyed Kiss Me. Charity was an okay character at best. She meets Josh right away and was “mesmerized” by him. Apparently so was the rest of the people in the meeting…and the whole town! Every single conversation she had with someone led to talk of how perfect and attractive Josh was. The townspeople even had a serious conversation about how good they think Josh would be in bed. They then asked Charity for a confirmation. Really? I don’t know anybody in real life that can produce the same reaction as Josh got from a whole community. They act like they’ve never seen a guy before (the gender imbalance of the town isn’t that bad!).

Chasing Perfect

I can’t believe they are actually talking about Josh this way either.

Since Josh was a very unbelievable character for me and the story didn’t have much meat, I found it hard to read. Since I’m being honest, I have to admit I cheated a little. I skipped about 40 some pages and quickly skimmed a few of the chapters. Life is too short to read crummy books, right?

 

I hate giving books bad reviews. I’m sorry.

Was I too critical? Have you read this book? Do you recommend? Should I try another Susan Mallery book?
Conclusion: I enjoyed Kiss Me, the 17th book in the Fool’s Gold series but if I would have started on this book, the first in the series, I wouldn’t have continued. This book is not one I recommend picking up. 

2 thoughts on “Chasing Perfect Book Review

Leave a Reply

