We Were Liars Book Review

Synopsis:

Title – We Were Liars (Goodreads, Tumblr, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – E. Lockhart (Website, Goodreads)

Published – May 13th 2014

Classification – Young Adult

Summary – I stole Goodread’s summary because I think it’s spot on.

 

Capture______________________________________________________________________

 

Thoughts:

 

This is not your typical writing style.

It’s choppy. Short.

It is different. it is engaging.

However, as you can see from a simple google search, the book is very quotable.

We Were Liars 2

I’ll admit, all the names and lineage was thrown in your face at once. I was nervous I wasn’t going to keep all the characters straight. This family tree provided was a little help but all the reader really needs to know is the four “liars” – Gat, Johnny, Mirren, and Cadence.

Besides the names, you almost have to read between the lines to get to the root of the problem. I thought the themes seem to be tucked away and skirted around but I later realized the themes were right in my face the whole time.


We Were Liars received lot of attention from the media, including Entertainment Weekly, the Wall Street Journal, and Time. Mashable says it is “well -crafted and suspenseful” and Buzzfeed says it is “incredibly hard to put down”. Tumblr has a nice website that takes you into the world of the Sinclairs where you can see a whole list of reviews of the book. The website also has pictures of the island and family tree, and of course fan-made images that tumblr is known for.

 

Here is another great site with information about the book, author, and a character gallery. It also reveals that E. Lockhart has already written the screenplay for the movie adaptation, picked up by Imperative Entertainment. When I looked up this company though, I can’t find what other movies they have done. Can somebody help me here?

 

Interesting…I am curious as to how this will be made into a movie.

 

I recommend you pick up this book and read it. Once you reach the end, let me know what you thought in the comments below!

 

Trust me, you don’t want any spoilers for this book. Just read.

 

Conclusion: We Were Liars is worth the full read. You have to get to the end! The end is the best part.
We Were Liars

3 thoughts on “We Were Liars Book Review

Leave a Reply

