The Heir Book Review

Synopsis:

Title – The Heir The Heir(GoodreadsAmazonBarnsAndNoble)

Author – Kiera Cass (WebsiteGoodreadsEpicReads)

Published – May 5th 2015

Classification – Young Adult Fiction

Summary – The Heir is the fourth book in The Selection series. King Maxon and Queen America’s first born, Eadlyn is 18 and on the cusp of running Illea. Romance isn’t exactly her thing and marriage is far from what she wants. Having her own Selection was not in the plans either, but plans change.

______________________________________________________________________

Thoughts: ***warning: spoilers!***

I would describe this book as a cross between The Bachelor/Bachelorette (because of the line of suitors fighting for her heart) and The Hunger Games (because of the land’s citizen class system). I never watched the Bachelorette series, but…dare I say I liked The Selection series more than The Hunger Games?

I originally picked up The Selection series because of a recommendation from my brother and I was so excited to find out a fourth book was coming out. It took forever for The Heir to come in at the library but once I got my hands on it, I finished this book in three days….it gave me ALL. THE. FEELS.

There are so many things I liked about this book.

First, The Heir is the fourth book of a supposed-to-be trilogy, but the books go against the norm and keeps getting better! Nothing is worse when series continues downhill from the first book.

The Heir 2

Second, I love the spelling of the names. Usually, it is hard for me to remember weird names in a book like this that takes place in a different land, but this book is different. In my head I pronounced Eadlyn as Adalyn, Ahren as Aaron, Osten as Austin, Kile as Kyle, and Henri as Henry.

Third, I love how close Eadlyn is with her father. She had to start working with him so she knew what to do when she started ruling. It hit close to home since I worked with my dad since the age of 13 as well. Eadlyn is also close with her brother Ahren too and it was super cute how in love he was with Princess Camille. Cass wrote the family dynamic just perfect.

Speaking of ruling, the fact that the daughter was taking over the crown instead of the first born son was a well-known element, but not exaggerated. I liked that it wasn’t made a big deal. One particular quote made me think of this element from a different view – Eadlyn’s brother Kaden’s view on ruling was “…your name will be in a history book one day, and some bored ten-year-old will memorize it for a test and then forget all about you. You have a job, just like everybody in the world. Stop acting like it makes you more or less than anyone else.” Cass actually makes you think instead of making it just about romance.

By my second day of reading, I realized that there is no way Cass can wrap this plot line up in one book. With more research I found out that the fifth and final book will be titled The Crown, coming out May of 2016.

There are also other books that follow The Selection series: The Prince, The Guard, The Queen and The Favorite. I have not read these yet. If you have, let me know what you thought in the comments below!

And finally…the biggest news! Warner Bros has bought the movie rights to The Selection series. This video says it is the official trailer of The Heir (not sure if that is accurate or not, but it is pretty spot on):

Conclusion: Be prepared for all your heart strings to be tugged. 

P.S. If you want to be very entertained, check out Kiera Cass’s YouTube videos: https://www.youtube.com/user/KieraCass

4 thoughts on “The Heir Book Review

Leave a Reply

