Living Well Spending Less Book Review

Synopsis:Living Well Spending Less by Ruth Soukup

Title – Living Well Spending Less: 12 secrets to the good life  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Ruth Soukup (Website, Goodreads)

Published – December 30th 2014

Classification – Fiction

Summary – Ruth Soukup, a popular blogger of, published Living Well Spending Less to give her followers even more to be excited about! As Ruth puts it: “Through a combination of personal stories and practical action plans, this book will empower, enable, and inspire you to make real and lasting changes to your personal goals, finances, and homes in order to create the life you’ve always wanted—the Good Life”.


Thoughts: I was super stoked to FINALLY have this book in my hands after weeks of being on hold at the library. Ruth Soukup is one of my favorite bloggers and I’ve been following her for a while now. She has inspired so many people already and is helping others live the life they want – whether it is to get out of debt, cut down on grocery costs, keeping the house decluttered, or creating a successful blog. I follow her on a few social channels, as well as subscribe to her email where I first heard of her book.

She runs sales and promotions on her products, but I was happy to see that my local library carried the book so I could get my hands on it right away, rather than waiting until I decided it was okay to spend money on a book. I was only a few chapters in and I already knew that this book needed to be on my bookshelf permanently.

“The Good Life to me is this: a life rich in faith, family, friends, and creativity…It may not be always easy or comfortable. But it is always full in abundance and completely secure in Christ.”

I LOVE this!

The pictures below are just a few of the pages that I wanted to highlight:

As you can see, she covers topics such as goal setting, prioritizing your life, decluttering your possessions, how to find coupons, etc.

She writes in a conversational tone and shares her story of how she got where she is now and why she does what she does.Living Well Spending Less instagram post

While reading the other reviews on Goodreads, I think it is important to note that she does include bible verses and her faith within the book. Many people were turned off by this fact, but I thought it enhanced her writing. It is a big part of who she is and why she does what she does…so why should she omit it?

Have you read any of Ruth Soukup’s books? What are some things you pulled from your reading?

Conclusion: Highly recommend!


The Slight Edge Book Review

Synopsis:The Slight Edge

Title -The Slight Edge  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Jeff Olson (Website, Goodreads)

Published – September 15th 2014 (the 8th anniversary edition)

Classification – Non-fiction, Self-help

Summary – The Slight Edge is a self-help book about doing little daily activities to reach your goal. This 8th anniversary edition of The Slight Edge includes mini testimonies about the slight edge in use.



The Slight Edge is another staple book for your personal development library. Personally, I think this book is very similar to Darren Hardy’s The Compound Effect.  I feel The Slight Edge contents and themes builds upon the foundation from The Compound Effect. If you’re looking for an easier read or a “simpler” book, I’d recommend The Compound Effect…then grab this book.


“People also searched for” section in Google listings

Two big things I pulled out of this book are:

  • NEVER QUIT DREAMING. THE REASON THINGS MAY BE UNCOMFORTABLE IS BECAUSE I HAVE A GOAL – There is a “wanting” gap between “where I am” and “where I could be.” The gap and difference between these two places makes people uncomfortable. Most people see this difference as negative problem and want it to go away, rather than take steps towards the latter. To get rid of this tension, most just quit dreaming. (ch. 10, pg 165-166)
  • YOU CANNOT DO ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING WHEN REACHING A GOAL – “Remember, there aren’t many millionaires who bowl over 100. Why not? Because they left the bowling league behind to build their fortunes. ‘Is that too large of a price to pay?’ is a question only you can answer. Remember this: whatever price you pay, there’s a bigger price to pay for not doing it than the price for it….It may take five years and 10,000 hours to put your success on track, but it takes a lifetime to fail.”(ch. 15, pg 228)

I think it is important to note that these are some things I pulled out of the book during my first read-through. I will pull out different things next time I open the book because I will have personally grown since. Most likely, I will pull this book off my shelf next year to brush up my slight edge.

What are some things you taken away from reading this book? If you haven’t read it yet, will you?

Conclusion: As mentioned, The Slight Edge is another staple book for your personal development library.

The Bookseller Book Review

Synopsis:The Bookseller by Cynthia Swanson

Title – The Bookseller  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Cynthia Swanson (Website, Goodreads)

Published – March 3rd 2015

Classification – Fiction

Summary – Kitty Miller enjoys her life as a single lady who owns a bookstore with her best friend Frieda. However, as her dreams of her alternative life become more and more real, Kitty wonders if she is really as satisfied as she thought she was.


Thoughts: The Bookseller was one book I took on a weekend Upper Michigan trip to visit family. I’m not sure if this was a good idea or not…because this meant I was reading about a person waking up in a different room than one she fell asleep in. And here I am..waking up in a room that is not my bedroom.

But maybe this added to my liking of the story!

The Bookseller by Cynthia Swanson book reviewI thoroughly enjoyed The Bookseller. The author has the writing talent to sway the reader as the story goes on. When reading the chapter set during her single life, I was swayed into thinking that life is the right one for Kitty. Then I read the next chapter set during her married family life and I was almost convinced that life is the correct one.

In some further digging after I finish, I found some wonderful book discussion questions (link here). I would have LOVED to participate in a group discussion about The Bookseller. It is such a wonderful story with so much depth.

Want to discuss The Bookseller with me? Comment below! I’d love to hear other people’s thoughts – there is so much to talk about!

Conclusion: The Bookseller is going on my recommended book list for everybody!

2016 Summer Reading List


2016 Summer REading List


June is here and the weather is warming up. I just spent Memorial Weekend at the family trottage (cottage/ is a thing), which is prime for making a dent in my reading list.

Plus, I am all done with classes and you know what that means…

I am finished worrying about assignments and I can resume worrying about getting the next book done!

Just kidding. Reading is not stressful.

Anyway, I wanted to share my 2016 Summer Reading List (in no particular order). Here it is:



Confess by Colleen Hoover

Confess: A Novel by Colleen Hoover

As a follow up to reading Colleen Hoover’s Maybe Someday, which I loved (review to come), I decided to stick her newest book on my list.

Goodread’s description: Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…”



Strong Looks Better Naked Khloe Kardashian Strong Looks Better Naked by Khloe Kardashian

Because of my curiosity in books written by celebrities, of course this book is on my list.

Goodreads’ description: Khloé Kardashian shares her secrets for finding strength of body, heart, mind, and soul with inspirational, revealing stories of her own struggles with weight, relationships, and her self-image.

In a culture that worships skinny, Khloé Kardashian writes with passion about the power of strength: a strong body becomes a strong mind, which builds to strength of heart, character, and ultimately strength of spirit. This is an inspiring book about how to create strength and true beauty in every area of your life, inside and out. The book features inspired personal stories from Khloé and practical how-to advice about building a strong body, mind, heart, and soul in your own life.”



The Program by Suzanne YoungThe Program by Suzanne Young

This book has been on my “need-to-read” list for a while. I’ve heard nothing but good things.

Goodreads’ description: In Sloane’s world, true feelings are forbidden, teen suicide is an epidemic, and the only solution is The Program.

Sloane knows better than to cry in front of anyone. With suicide now an international epidemic, one outburst could land her in The Program, the only proven course of treatment. Sloane’s parents have already lost one child; Sloane knows they’ll do anything to keep her alive. She also knows that everyone who’s been through The Program returns as a blank slate. Because their depression is gone—but so are their memories.

Under constant surveillance at home and at school, Sloane puts on a brave face and keeps her feelings buried as deep as she can. The only person Sloane can be herself with is James. He’s promised to keep them both safe and out of treatment, and Sloane knows their love is strong enough to withstand anything. But despite the promises they made to each other, it’s getting harder to hide the truth. They are both growing weaker. Depression is setting in. And The Program is coming for them.”



Thrill Me by Susan Mallery Thrill Me by Susan Mallery

I haven’t totaled up all of the books in Susan Mallery’s Fools Gold series, but I know it is a lot. In following my review of Kiss Me and Chasing Perfect, (click the links for my review) I decided to try another one of her books. This time, I picked Thrill Me which came out August of 2015.

Goodreads’ description: Meet the Mitchell brothers of Fool’s Gold, California—five gorgeous men who’ve left a trail of broken hearts in their wake…

Maya Farlow learned the hard way to depend only on herself, so when she fell too deeply for the bad-boy charms of Del Mitchell, she did the only thing she could—she ran. Stunned, Del left Fool’s Gold to make his name and fortune in extreme sports.

Now ten years later, Maya’s been hired to promote her hometown’s new slogan, The Destination for Romance. The celebrity spokesman is none other than Del, the man she dumped but never forgot. Awkward!

Although Del’s not the type to hold a grudge, he’s determined to avoid falling a second time for the woman who broke his heart. He’s a daredevil, not an idiot. Trouble is, in all his adventures, he never found a rush as exhilarating as Maya’s kiss. Maybe risking his heart will prove to be the biggest thrill of all…  ”



A Want so Wicked by Suanne Young A Want So Wicked by Suzanne Young

Another Suzanne Young book on my list! A Want So Wicked by Collen Hoover is the second book in A Need So Beautiful series (review to come soon), so pick up the first one if you haven’t yet. Although I wasn’t a huge fan of the writing and I wasn’t sure I was going to read the second one, the last chapter had me hooked. Yup, it was definitely going on my list.

Goodreads’ description: (link here due to the fact that it might be a spoiler if you haven’t read the first book)



Play It As It Lays by Joan Didion Play it As it Lays by Joan Didion

This book has been checked out of the library once before and returned before finishing the first chapter. Here’s to giving it another try. What is it about again?

Goodreads’ description: “A ruthless dissection of American life in the late 1960s, Play It as It Lays captures the mood of an entire generation, the ennui of contemporary society reflected in spare prose that blisters and haunts the reader. Set in a place beyond good and evil – literally in Hollywood, Las Vegas, and the barren wastes of the Mojave Desert, but figuratively in the landscape of an arid soul – it remains more than three decades after its original publication a profoundly disturbing novel, riveting in its exploration of a woman and a society in crisis and stunning in the still-startling intensity of its prose.” 



The Crown by Kiera Cass The Crown by Kiera Cass

I rave about Kiera Cass in my book review of The Heir. This past May was the release of the next book in the Selection series. Of course this one is going on my list!

Goodreads’ description: When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.”



Young and Beardless by John Luke RobertsonYoung and Beardless by John Luke Robertson

I just adore the Robertson family and want to read all their books. Just published May 17th, Young and Beardless is one I haven’t had a chance to get my hands on yet. (Speaking of book lists: I cannot find a complete list of the Robertson family’s books. How do I know I read them all? Bonus points to whoever is able to link me to a complete list!)

Goodreads’ description: John Luke Robertson may be young and beardless, but he has a lot to say about growing up and discovering your purpose.

John Luke Robertson, the oldest son of Willie and Korie Robertson and brother of Dancing with the Stars sensation Sadie Robertson, shares his story of what it’s like to grow up as a Robertson and all the fun and craziness that entails, as well as what he has learned as he has stepped out into his own unique experiences. He also shares what it’s like to navigate the walk from boyhood to becoming a man. Topics in this book include friendship, kindness, dreaming big, embracing your God-given uniqueness, taking chances, and choosing mentors.

John Luke speaks frequently on dreams (how to build a dream for your life), schemes (how to plan for your dream to come true), and building teams (choosing the people around you who will become a team that helps make your dream come true through their support, honesty, and care). He will incorporate these important guidelines into the book, ultimately helping young people learn how to find and pursue a clear-cut purpose in their lives.”


Life Just Got Real by Sadie Robertson Life Just Got Real by Sadie Robertson

Another Robertson clan book! Sadie’s second book is set to release June 7th, 2016.

Goodreads’ description: “From Dancing with the Stars runner-up and Duck Dynasty star Sadie Robertson comes a fun novel about two teenage girls from different backgrounds and opposite lifestyles who discover there is more to friendship than what meets the eye.

Sixteen-year-old A.J. Stewart, born and raised in backwoods Tennessee, loves nothing more than repairing broken cars with her father and hanging out with her brothers and their friends. Not far away in the busy city of Nashville, Kate Kelly is always dressed in the latest fashion, wearing clothes from her mother’s boutique and jetting around the world with her father.

When A.J. starts going to the school Kate attends, they instantly dislike each other. But as the year progresses, Kate’s brother Val is drawn to A.J., and when prom comes around, he asks her to be his date—much to his sister’s displeasure.

The following summer at camp, the two girls continue their dislike of each other, until a surprising moment of openness when A.J. shares her faith with Kate. As their bond grows, they discover that they share an inner resolve to live life as God intended, and to live it in their own individual and original ways.

In Life Just Got Real Sadie Robertson inspires teens to find the value God has placed inside us all and to live with confidence and purpose in a very complicated world.  “



The Rose and The Dagger by Renee Ahdieh The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

The Rose and the Dagger is the second book in The Wrath and The Dawn Series (review to come soon!) Just released in 2015, I am so so so excited to continue this story!

Goodreads’ description: The darker the sky, the brighter the stars.

In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad is forced from the arms of her beloved husband, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once thought Khalid a monster—a merciless killer of wives, responsible for immeasurable heartache and pain—but as she unraveled his secrets, she found instead an extraordinary man and a love she could not deny. Still, a curse threatens to keep Shazi and Khalid apart forever.

Now she’s reunited with her family, who have found refuge in the desert, where a deadly force is gathering against Khalid—a force set on destroying his empire and commanded by Shazi’s spurned childhood sweetheart. Trapped between loyalties to those she loves, the only thing Shazi can do is act. Using the burgeoning magic within her as a guide, she strikes out on her own to end both this terrible curse and the brewing war once and for all. But to do it, she must evade enemies of her own to stay alive.

The saga that began with The Wrath and the Dawn takes its final turn as Shahrzad risks everything to find her way back to her one true love again.”



And there you have it! My 2016 Summer Reading List! This is not an all-encompassing list of course since a bunch of books sneak their way into my pile practically everyday! But at the end of summer, these will be read and reviewed.


Any books I should add to my list? This list just reflects my reading personality at this time. Suggestions welcome!


The 5 Love Languages Book Review

Synopsis:The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman

Title – The 5 Love Languages  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Gary Chapman (Website, Goodreads)

Published – First published January 1st, 1990

Classification – Non-Fiction

Summary – Not all people and relationships are the same. As Dr. Gary Chapman’s first book, The 5 Love Languages outlines five ways to express and experience love, which includes Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Acts of Service, Gifts, and Physical Touch.

The 5 Love Languages was a New York Times Bestseller and has sold over 4 million copies worldwide.


Thoughts: I personally believe this book should be read by EVERYONE.

If you are single….read this book.

If you are dating…read this book.

If you are engaged…read this book.

If you are married…read this book.

If you recently broke up…you get the point.

All I’m trying to say is this book can be useful no matter what your relationship status is. Understanding each one of the five love languages gives you deeper understanding of what you and others need to feel loved.

Do you feel more loved when you and your partner go for a bike ride, hike, or picnic? Do you feel more loved when your partner holds your hand while walking into the grocery store? Do you feel more loved when they compliment you on the meal you just made or thank you for doing the wash?

Having your “love tank” full allows you to blossom. If both partners are not filling each other’s love tank, that is when the relationship starts heading south. Additionally, it doesn’t matter if one person’s love language is Quality Time and the other person’s love language is Words of Affirmation. What matters is understanding what your partner’s love language is and filling their love tank. And understanding your own love language and learning how to express it to your partner greatly enhances the relationship.

Do you need to read this book to have a thriving relationship? Absolutely not. But it doesn’t hurt either!


I read The 5 Love Languages under recommendation, and gained knowledge and understanding of my own love language. I also tried to take an educated guess on my partner’s love language. I encouraged my fiance to read the book. However this didn’t happen until about a year later when I picked up The 5 Love Languages audio book for him to listen in the car.

We’ve been together for over 6 years at this point and engaged to be married. We both agreed we had a very happy relationship. We obviously know a lot about each other by then; we know what makes each other tick and what makes each other smile. Later, when chatting about The 5 Love Languages, we confirmed what each of our love language is and had a good conversation about what actions fills our love tank.

If you’ve read and loved the book, you can head to for even more tools by Gary Chapman. He also has many other books, including 5 Love Languages of Teenagers, Rise Above A Toxic Workplace, 5 Love Languages Military Edition, and many, many more.

Conclusion: No matter your current relationship status or the amount of happiness you have about your relationship, this book is what you need!

Room Book Review


Title – Room  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Emma Donoghue (Website, Goodreads)

Published – September 13th 2010

Classification – Fiction

Summary – Jack is five years old and has lived in Room his whole life. Ma makes breakfast, and they do their stretches and exercise all within the four walls. At the end of the day, he sleeps in Wardrobe with the door closed so Old Nick can’t see him during Old Nick’s nightly visits. Never have been outside of Room, Jack has to be very brave to pull off Ma’s escape plan.


Thoughts: I wanted to be emotionally prepared to be drawn into “Ma” and Jack’s world. Room was sitting in the pile of books by my nightstand for a few months before I could summon up the courage to open it up and start reading.


Yet, when I finally read it, I was shocked I wasn’t as moved by the story as much as I expected to be. Yes it was a sad and intriguing story, but it lacked to touch on some of the heartbreak and suffering Jack and Ma had to go through. Maybe it was the child’s point of view that didn’t allow me to fully engage with Room. Maybe it was lack of backstory from Ma’s time in captivity which I wrongfully assumed I was going to read about. I’m not sure. Perhaps I should read another book written from a child’s point of view to see if the innocents of the child takes away the depth of a story.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad I read it. I definitely wanted to read the book before I saw the movie. But…(don’t hate me for this)… you can basically get all that you need to know from the book’s Wikipedia page.

That being said, I think other readers will enjoy this read.

Conclusion: I thought I’d be more emotionally engaged with Room than what I was.

Was this just me? Have you read Room? What did you think? How does the movie compare? What are some other books written from a child’s point of view that I should pick up?


Troublemaker Book Review

Synopsis:Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology by Leah Remini

Title – Troublemaker  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Leah Remini (Website, Goodreads)

Published – November 3rd 2015

Classification – Non Fiction

Summary – Leah Remini writes a memoir of her life: from childhood, climbing the levels of Scientology, acting in The King of Queens, and much more..



I will be the first to admit I knew nothing about Scientology. I had no idea it was a religion. I picked up this book because Leah Remini wrote it, and by now everybody should know by now how big of a fan I am for reading books written by celebrities.

I consider myself to have a pretty open mind and curiosity for learning new things. I like learning about the way people live.

Thoughts after reading the book: WOW, wow, and wow. Mind awed and mouth open.

This book follows Leah’s life from childhood, through joining the Scientology church, becoming a Sea Org member, going to many casting calls, starting a family with Angelo, acting on The King of Queens, going to Tom Cruise‘s wedding, and quitting Scientology.

Leah really opens up about struggling through the acting business. She was always working really hard because she needed to pay rent for her family. It was hard to rely on income from acting because shows kept getting canceled after doing a few episodes. I love reading about her experience meeting with Jennifer Aniston and trying out for Friends (one of my all-time favorite shows!).  When Leah finally landed the role on King of Queens, it was absolutely touching the way she spoke about Kevin and the crew because they had her back.

Obviously, Leah also opened up about things she had to do for Scientology as well. I won’t reveal too much about this topic because I hope that people pick up the book, but basically Scientologists are told that their mission is to “clear the planet” (I’m still not sure what that means exactly). Her mother’s boyfriend introduced them to the church, where they worked and took classes to get to higher levels. Scientology is the answer and can make a person realize their full potential for greatness. Those who leave the church are considered “Suppressive Persons” and are told to disconnect people in the church. Again, I won’t go into too much detail because I like how Leah explained things.


Taking into consideration this is her view of her situation, and there is two sides to every story, I’d say she was pretty fair about things. Naturally, Leah has an abrasive side which gets her into trouble. She admits to some of her faults which I can appreciate. Obviously Leah is not afraid to speak her mind, but bringing to light and questioning some things that she encountered within the church is a very courageous thing for her to do.

The reviewers over at agree with me that it is a good book.

Conclusion: Highly recommend.

What do you think?

The Sweet Trilogy Review


The Sweet Trilogy


Title – The Sweet Trilogy  (Website, Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Wendy Higgins (Website, Goodreads)

Published – May 1st 2012, April 30th 2013, and April 29th 2014

Classification – Young Adult Fiction

Summary – Anna Whitt was born with the ability to see and feel the emotions of people around her. She also remembers everything since her birth. She remembers a male figure telling her to stay away from what she desires so strongly everyday…drugs & alcohol.

Despite Anna hiding her differences from everybody, including her foster mom, Patti, she can’t evade the inevitable .  When her friend Jason brings her to a concert and she doesn’t see the drummer’s emotional aura, she finds out her real heritage…filled with angels, demons, and nyphs.



Okay so no matter how many times I rewrite the summary to try to make it sound less cheesy, I can’t. But let me stress to you….holy amazing book!

I read the first book in this series, Sweet Evil, and before I could sit down to write a full review…I finished the whole trilogy. Oops. So I decided to write a review on the whole series.

And here I am, about two months later, still thinking about the characters and wishing I could keep following their journey (although the end wraps it up pretty well).

This series is excellent. It took me on an emotional rollercoaster. I became attached to the characters. I didn’t want it to end but I couldn’t stop reading.

I don’t like doing a lot of internet digging on a book before I read the story, but you’d think I’d know by now to at least find out if it is part of a series. I got to almost the end of the book and started to panic because there wasn’t enough pages to finish everything!

there's too many things that need resolving but the book has only 20 pages left

Sums up my panic.

I think the relate-ability of the characters allows for fan bases to grow. This is the case for the Sweet trilogy. The fanbase is growing! Just search Sweet Peril in tumblr. Kaiden Rowe even has his own twitter account and wiki page. Clearly it is a pretty quotable book, similar to We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.


Please don’t let the silly angel/demon world turn you off to Anna’s world. I am with all those reviewers on goodreads saying “this review doesn’t do it justice” and begging for others to enjoy!


Conclusion: Try out the first book. Perhaps by the time you’re done you’ll be grabbing for the next.



10 Celebrities You Didn’t Know Wrote Books (That are actually good)

10 Celebrities

In natural Kristine fashion, when I find out a famous person wrote a book I immediately have to pick it up. Why? I hope to get a glimpse into their private life.

I came across some of these books because I follow the celebrity in the media. Others came to me as hidden gems, uncovered by my thorough book search.

Below is a list of books written by celebrities that I picked up in the recent months. Most of them I liked, some of them I thought could be better, but all of them I recommend.


  1. Home by Ellen DeGeneres

Home 1

Ellen DeGeneres is known The Ellen Show, but I bet you didn’t know she is a fantastic interior designer. Published October 27th 2015, this book showcases designs big glossy pictures of rooms in her and Portia’s homes (that she designed obviously). Read my review here.


2. Sliding Into Home by Kendra Wilkinson

Sliding in

Kendra Wilkinson is known for being one of Hugh Hefner’s three girlfriends in the reality TV show Girls Next Door. She then stared in her own TV show, Kendra on Top. In between these shows is when this memoir takes place, giving you details of her life in the Playboy mansion, her relationship with husband Hank, and her shift into motherhood with the birth of her first child. Published in July 6th 2010 and appropriately names after her love of sports, this book will give you a glimpse into the life of Kendra that you’ve always wanted.


3. Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

Someday, Someday, Maybe Book Cover

The Gilmore Girls, Parenthood, and Evan Almighty actress published her first debut novel on April 30th, 2013. Taking place in the 1990’s, the story follows main character, Franny, who has three months left in her three year plan to make it as an actress in New York City. Lauren’s humor definitely is sprinkled throughout the book. While I enjoy Lauren Graham’s acting roles, I didn’t find this book as delightful (read my review here). However, I have read other reviews that disagree with me. Why don’t you read it and find out yourself!


4. Troublemaker by Leah Remini

Leah Remini's Troublemaker

Leah Remini is an American actress and comedian, known best for her role as Carrie Heffernan on The King of Queens. Thoughts after reading this book: WOW, wow, and wow. Published on November 3rd 2015, this book follows Leah’s life from childhood, through joining the Scientology church, becoming a Sea Org member, going to many casting calls, starting a family with Angelo, acting on The King of Queens, going to Tom Cruise‘s wedding, and quitting Scientology. For one person’s inside view of Scientology and journey to becoming a well-known actress,  this is a must read. Go here to read my full review.


5. Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris

Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris

Seriously, this should be at the top of this list! (But this list is alphabetical, so technically it is appropriately placed.)  Neil Patrick Harris, famous for his role in How I Met Your Mother creates a “Choose Your Own Adventure Book”, published on October 14th 2014. This book is witty, comical, and entertaining. I enjoyed it from beginning to end…or should I say, from page 1 to page 31 to page 185 to page 93…


6. Strong is the New Sexy by Nicole “Snooki” Polizzi


Nicole has been a busy bee since the Jersey Shore. Between filming shows, selling home-made crafts on Etsy, and being a mom and wife, Strong is the New Sexy is the fifth book written by Nicole. I thoroughly enjoy her writing because it truly reflects who she really is: down-to-earth, goofy, and original. Go ahead, pick up this book to see how much Nicole “Snooki” Polizzi has changed since her days on Jersey Shore and how much fun she is. Click here for my full review.


7. Suck It, Wonder Woman! by Olivia Munn

Suck It, Wonder Woman! by Olivia Munn

Lisa Olivia Munn is actress, model, television personality. Previous host of Attack of the Show!, she published this book on July 6th 2010. Within, she admits, “writing a book is hard as shit” and she “gave this book my best shot.” In thirty-four random chapters, Olivia recounts random stories of her childhood,  gives random tips for geeks, and exhibits random pictures of her in random outfits. I think this book is very random. Oh, you picked up on that? Well, I think fans of her would love this book.


8. There’s More to Life Than This by Theresa Caputo

There's More to Life Than This by Theresa Caputo

Theresa Caputo, better known as TLC’s Long Island Medium, published this book on October 1st, 2013. This book gives readers the insight from when she was young and first figured out that she had a gift, to how she grew to use her gift as she does today. She also talked about things she sees and how she interprets what she can see from the Other Side. Theresa’s gift can spark some controversy, but I believe this book is for both believers and non-believers. Fans of the show can get into the nitty-gritty of Theresa Caputo’s life and skeptics can further understand how she thinks. I recommend picking up There’s More to Life Than This and cracking it open.


9. Modelland by Tyra Banks

Modelland by Tyra Banks

Tyra Banks, host of America’s Next Top Model and The Tyra Banks Show, wrote her first and only book, appropriately titled Modelland.  In this mystical world, Tookie De La Crème is the unlikely choice to be given an invitation for the place on top of the mountains, where she has to finish a supermodel bootcamp. This young adult book was published on April 26th 2011.


10. Hold Me in Contempt by Wendy Williams


Published April 15th 2014, Hold Me in Contempt is the most recent book written by the famous radio personality, comedian, actress, and host of The Wendy Williams Show. Other books from Wendy include three non-fiction book and three fictions books co-authored. Hold Me in Contempt is a steamy and edgy romance about Kimberly Kind, a lawyer with a pain medication addition. Love is not in the question (is it ever?) and King is the exact opposite of the man she would ever date. Read my full raving review here.

10 Celebrities You Didn't Know Wrote Books

Well there you have it. Ten books, all written by celebrities.

Have you read any of these? What did you think? What are some other books written by celebrities you enjoyed?




Four Book Review

Synopsis:Four by Veronica Roth

Title – Four (Goodreads, Amazon, BarnsAndNoble)

Author – Veronica Roth (Website, Goodreads)

Published – July 8th 2014

Classification – Young Adult Fiction

Summary – Four is a collection of short stories from Four’s point of view. The first three stories, “The Transfer,” “The Initiate,” and “The Son,” are all before Four met Tris. The last story, “The Traitor,” takes place mid-Divergent



On the final stop before a 5 hours long car ride, and thinking I didn’t have enough reading material to last, I nabbed this book off my cousin’s shelf. I’ll admit this book was never on my reading list because I didn’t want for it to ruin what I thought of the Divergent series. Stories that are rewritten from a different perspective can be a big a hit or a big miss. I didn’t want it to be a miss.

Four by Veronica Roth contents

When Roth was writing Allegiant, she needed “additional perspective.” So, Roth decided to write two point of views.

I can almost guarantee that I will find people complaining about the addition to the series, saying Roth should have stopped with the completion of Allegiant. But I consider myself optimistic and fair for giving books their own fighting chance. Sure enough, I found those complainers. But I also did find fans of Four, who naturally love anything pertaining to the male character.

What did I think about the book? Four wasn’t that bad. It also wasn’t great. I was left wanting more. I felt that the writing was very high level and what Roth wrote was just skimming the surface. I read Divergent a few years ago so I couldn’t nit pick at the details. I thought, from what I could remember, Roth did a good job aligning the details of the stories. However I felt that the emotion could have gone deeper. I didn’t connect with Four as much as I did with Tris in Divergent. I wanted to know more about the way Four was feeling and going through during Divergent, but Four didn’t give it to me. The stories are written in chunks which I thought prevented the reader from fully connecting and engaging with the story.


Also, the cover image is deceiving. There is never any mention of the Ferris Wheel incident.


Conclusion: I thought Roth could have done better.